Logo for Signhealth, the deaf charity

Search the site

Available to watch after 7pm, Wednesday 20 May 2020

Domestic Abuse: A discussion

Fifi Garfield, Marie Vickers & Sabina Iqbal discuss domestic abuse and how the current lockdown situation has changed things.

This Q&A programme is a BSL Zone and SignHealth collaboration.   Presenter Fifi Garfield talks to Marie Vickers, SignHealth’s Domestic Abuse Service Manager, and Sabina Iqbal, the Sensory Services Team Manager at Hertfordshire County Council, about how the current COVID-19 lockdown has had an impact on domestic abuse situations.  They answer questions submitted in advance by viewers, giving an overview of what domestic abuse is and explaining how people can get help and support at this time.

More information (UK)

Coronavirus information from Gov.UK: www.gov.uk/coronavirus

Coronavirus information available in BSL: www.signhealth.org.uk/coronavirus

SignHealth’s Domestic Abuse service: signhealth.org.uk/with-deaf-people/domestic-abuse/

BSL Health Access: www.bslhealthaccess.co.uk

Hertfordshire County Council’s Sensory Services: www.hertfordshire.gov.uk/services/adult-social-services/disability/sensory-services/sensory-services.aspx

Boots Pharmacy Consultation Rooms become safe spaces: www.boots-uk.com/our-stories/boots-pharmacy-consultation-rooms-become-safe-spaces-for-victims-of-domestic-abuse

Hestia: www.hestia.org

Refuge freephone 24 hour national domestic abuse helpline: www.nationaldahelpline.org.uk

Herts Sunflower: www.hertssunflower.org/herts-sunflower.aspx

Women’s Aid: www.womensaid.org.uk

999 Silent Solution (what to do if you need urgent police help through 999, but can’t speak www.policeconduct.gov.uk/sites/default/files/Documents/research-learning/Silent_solution_guide.pdf

Legal Aid: www.gov.uk/legal-aid

NSPCC: www.nspcc.org.uk

Childline: www.childline.org.uk

Shout free 24/7 text service for anyone in crisis: signhealth.org.uk/with-deaf-people/crisis-text-service

SignHealth Psychological Therapy Service: signhealth.org.uk/with-deaf-people/psychological-therapy/therapy-service

Deaf4Deaf counselling and psychology: www.deaf4deaf.com

Rape Crisis England and Wales: rapecrisis.org.uk

Rape Crisis Scotland: www.rapecrisisscotland.org.uk

Rape Crisis Northern Ireland: rapecrisisni.org.uk

Respect phoneline: respectphoneline.org.uk

Mankind: www.mankind.org.uk

Due to the increased risk this programme might have on the Deaf community, we made the decision to pre-record the programme and remove comments. Instead we invited questions from viewers in advance.

Thank you to everyone who sent in questions. If you still have questions please text or email the domestic abuse team at SignHealth directly (text or WhatsApp/Facetime 07970 350366 or email da@signhealth.org.uk).


Contact our Domestic Abuse Team

If you are in an abusive relationship or think you might be, please contact us.

Text 88802 with the message 121SIGN
Text or WhatsApp/Facetime 07970 350366
da@signhealth.org.uk
Call 020 3947 2601

Confidentiality is important to us. For more information, please read our privacy statement.

Proudly supported by
London Councils